Tags | Users |
Admin privileges required
Sometimes, you may need to remove a user's access to your Team. Perhaps you are part of a company where one of your coworkers transferred to a department where they no longer need access. Maybe you're part of a school system where you need to cycle in and out students each year as users graduate or gain admission. Whatever the case may be, we provide deactivation as a process to ensure you can cleanly remove a user's access to the Team when needed.
If you wish to deactivate a user, visit Users and permissions under Admin settings. While browsing the user table, you can hover over the rightmost ACTIONS column of the user you wish to deactivate, as demonstrated below:
After confirming your decision to deactivate a user, the user will immediately be deactivated, instantly removing their access to the Team. A deactivated user is NOT a deleted user - they will still occupy a seat on your Team account and count towards a billable user.
We keep track of deactivated users for several reasons:
It keeps track of the questions, answers, and comments posted by that user. Though they may not have access, their content will still be in the Team.
It prevents a new user with the same email as the deactivated account from rejoining the Team by any means.
It allows an Admin to reactivate the user at a later date in the event that they need to regain access to the Team.
Deactivation is not a permanent action, and can be undone in the form of reactivation. This can be helpful if the deactivation was only a temporary need, or simply to undo a mistake was made in deactivation. When viewing the list of Deactivated users, you can hover over their deactivated status on the rightmost column to view the option to Reactivate User:
After confirming your decision to reactivate a user, the user will immediately return to being a normal member of the Team, and regain access. They will not have to re-register or receive a new invite, their access will be returned in the same fashion as when they last had access to the Team.
Need help? Submit an issue or question through our support portal.